A *Discount* for multiple book orders !!Get a Quote ...
Built in celebration of victory at the battle of Waterloo the building was originally a chapel belonging to St.Mary’s and All Saints. Consecrated on the 13th September 1824 the chapel had 2,000 seats for the rapidly growing town.
Parish Church status came in 1867 but perhaps the most significant event was its complete destruction by fire in 1922. Rebuilt under the direction of Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, architect of Liverpool’s Anglican Cathedral, it was rededicated exactly 101 years after its consecration on 13th September 1925.
St.George’s Schools, the Parish Room, the daughter churches of St.Cecilia’s and St Chad’s together with the history of St.Andrew’s, “the tin church”, demolished to make way for the ring-road, are all covered in 164 pages packed with information and photographs.
The social life of the town and the early influence of the carpet “masters” also form part of this fascinating history. Parish life is well featured with many stories about the clergy, congregation and the characters that have played their part in the church’s traditions.